Indian Passport Holders May Soon Get Priority Visas to 26 European Countries

Travelling to Europe may soon get easier for Indian passport holders. Reports say that Schengen states may soon offer priority visas to holders of the Indian passport; a move that is sure to be welcomed by many, Times of India Reported.

The Schengen states comprise 26 European countries – Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden, along with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Right now, UK offers priority visas to Indian citizens at an additional cost of Rs 90,000 for ‘super priority’ visas, where the visa process takes a day. The ‘priority’ category of visas to the UK come at an extra fee of Rs 20,000 and the visa decision takes less than a week.

Currently, a normal visa to the Schengen states take about 15 to 30 days to be processed. For Indian passport holders who need to travel to the Schengen states on a short notice, the revised visa rules will make the process of travelling much easier.