COVID-19IndiaPakistanSaudi ArabiaTravelWorld

Resumption of international flights does not include 20 countries facing travel ban, says Saudi Airlines

Saudi Arabian Airlines (SAUDIA) has revealed that the decision to resume international flights on May 17 does not apply to the 20 countries that Saudi Arabia banned travel in earlier this year, local media reported.

Saudia confirmed this in a tweet in response to a user’s question about whether the travel ban would be lifted for all countries, including those on the travel ban list.

Saudia said: “Welcome, our dear guest, the suspension of all international flights will be lifted starting from 1 a.m. on Monday, May 17. But this won’t be applicable to countries where the relevant official committee decided to suspend travel to or from due to the outbreak of coronavirus”.

Why is the floor of the Grand Mosque in Makkah so cool? on Feb. 3 as part of measures to curb the spread of the coronavirus pandemic, with the exception of foreign diplomats, health practitioners, and their families. Also read: Iqama can now be issued or renewed for three months.

The 20 countries facing travel ban are as follows: India, Pakistan, UAE, Germany, US, Indonesia, Argentina, Japan, Ireland, Italy, Brazil, Portugal, UK, Turkey, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, France, Lebanon, and Egypt.

The decision applies to those entering the Kingdom from other countries who have travelled through any of these 20 countries in the 14 days preceding their application to enter the Kingdom.


Mohammed Ameen is the author behind With a decade of experience in Saudi Arabia and a Master's in Business Administration, he shares practical tips and insights on expat life in the Kingdom.
Back to top button