COVID-19Middle EastTravel Restrictions

UAE Lifts Ban on Transit Flights From India, Pakistan, Other Countries

The UAE will lift a ban on transit passenger traffic from India, Pakistan, Nigeria, and other countries on August 5, according to the National Emergency and Crisis Management Authority (NCEMA).

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the UAE, a major international travel hub, has banned passengers from many South Asian and African countries for several months. Related: How to Apply for Transit Visa to Saudi Arabia

The transit ban had also included Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Uganda.

Passengers traveling from countries where flights have been suspended will be able to transit through UAE airports beginning Thursday if they present negative PCR tests taken 72 hours prior to departure, according to NCEMA on Twitter.

The authority also stated that final destination approval would be required and that UAE departure airports would set up separate lounges for transiting passengers.

The NCEMA stated that the ban on entry to the UAE for passengers from these countries would be lifted for those with valid residency and certified as fully vaccinated by Emirati authorities.

They would, however, need to apply for online entry permits before travel and present a negative PCR test taken 48 hours before departure.

Those working in the medical, educational, or government sectors and those studying or receiving medical treatment in the UAE would be exempt from the vaccination requirement, as would humanitarian cases.

Related Articles

error: Content is protected !!