WhatsApp clarifies what will happen after May 15 if you do not accept the new privacy policy

WhatsApp clarifies what will happen after May 15 if you do not accept the new privacy policy

WhatsApp has detailed out what will happen if users do not accept its new privacy policy by May 15th. The Facebook-owned messaging app has clarified that user accounts will not be deleted after this date. However, functionalities will be limited to these accounts.

“For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.”  The company told TechCrunch that the period will last a few weeks.

Many users were outraged by WhatsApp’s new privacy policy, as the news has raised concerns about how much data Facebook will be able to access, given that the app now supports financial transactions and e-commerce. To be clear, WhatsApp’s policy has always said it shares information like a user’s phone number with Facebook. 

WhatsApp has clarified that no account will be deleted if the user doesn’t accept the policy but certain services will lose functionality. Users can accept the policy after May 15th as well, but WhatsApp usually deletes an account after 120 days of inactivity.

Many users have uninstalled the WhatApp application from their mobile phones and have migrated to other instant messaging apps even after clarification from the company which cited that it will not access or share private chats between consumers and only the chats with business accounts.

Previous articleExpats with huroob status can register in the Tawakkalna app
Next articleSaudi citizens married to foreigners can travel abroad – Jawazat